I’ve got a bike…

…you can ride it if you like.

Or not…..

Thomas and I went in to town this morning and we were almost hit by a cyclist.  I will admit we were being a bit inconsiderate.

By crossing at the trafffic lights when the “green man” was on we were clearly being inconsiderate by making it more difficult for the cyclist to ride through the red light.   When I said (and I quote myself) “Red lights apply to cyclists as well”, I was called a word beginning with C.  So….

Dear Cyclists,

I appreciate there are a lot of stupid drivers/people out there who, amongst other things, do not show respect to cyclists. However, despite what some of you might think you are not exactly perfect yourselves.

Some Comparisons:

Cost of decent car: £thousands
Cost of decent bike: £hundreds

Cost of learning to drive before being allowed on the road alone: £hundreds
Cost of same for bike: £nil

Cost of Insurance before being allowed on the road: £hundreds
Cost of same for bike: £nil

Cost to car insurer when in accident with bike caused by car: £thousands
Cost of same for bike: £nil

Cost to car insurer when in accident with bike caused by bike: £thousands
Cost of same for bike: £nil

Cost in penalty points to car driver when in accident with bike caused by car: various
Cost as above to cyclist: nil

Cost in penalty points to car driver when in accident with bike caused by bike: nil
Cost as above to cyclist: nil

Some facts:

I see more cyclists than cars going the wrong way down one way streets.

I see more cyclists than cars going along FOOTpaths.  (you’ll notice the stressing of FOOT)

I see more cyclists than cars going through red lights.

I see more cyclists than cars dangerously swearving in and out of slow moving traffic.

I see as many cyclists as car drivers texting and talking on the phone.

Two things amaze me with all this.  When I have questioned cyclists about the above (or seen interviews with them) many do not seem to think they are doing anything wrong.  Also,  given the fragility of their mode of transport (when compared to a large lump of motorised metal coming at you, or a large lump of road doing similar) you’d think they would be more sensible.

I should point out that I am both careful and considerate when driving and approaching cyclists on the road and will continue to be so.

I would also like to point out that the rules I have to abide by on the road also apply to you.  ALL OF THEM.

However given our experience mentioned above (nowhere near the first either) The following now applies.

If I am there (on foot) when a cyclist runs a red light I will not be held responsible if they fall off because I am legally crossing in front of them.
Should they fall off I will, while they are getting up, call the police and if at all possible, have them arrested for dangerous riding.
If there is any damage to me, my family or my posessions I will (given their lack of insurance)  pursue it through the courts.
I will take witness details to aid the above.
I will photograph the guilty cyclist and post the photos online.
If possible I will name and shame online too.

I have had enough and War is Declared.

I see this stuff all the time:  http://home.bt.com/lifestyle/motoring/motoringnews/cyclists-bad-behaviour-caught-on-camera-11363891666224

PS: If Gabby Logan is riding her bike whatever she does is fine with me.

One comment

Leave a Reply

