When i was young my Father said…

… Actually I don’t know what he said.

I have been on this earth for 52 years and 35 of those have been without him.  As my sister so simply puts it he is “always on my mind”

I don’t remember a lot of what he said because i was a typical teenager when he died and like a typical teenager I never listened to dinosaurs. On February 10th 1979, a saturday, I couldn’t babysit my sister so he could go out with Mum (for, I suspect, a pint and a brown ale at the Railway).  I can’t remember what was so earth shatteringly important that I couldn’t do this but I do remember promising to babysit the following weekend.  Four days later he was gone, 35 years later I still regret that.  With my two at 12 and 9 ithe boot is now firmly on the other foot and boy do see what a plonker I was!

My Dad was a long way from perfect but he was my Dad.  I know he loved us and I know he wanted the best for us even if, like his son now, he often found it hard to show it.  He was strict, probably too strict at times, something that he also passed on to his son.  However I think he was looking forward to sharing a beer with his son on a sunday lunchtime while keeping out of Mums way as she cooked the lunch.  That’s how it was done in those days.

I regret his passing for many reasons, too many to list here.   He would have loved his grandchildren and he might even have been fond of their father again once the years of Teenage angst had passed. Since mum joined him a few years ago I guess she’s filled him in on what he missed so hopefully he will, in some way, be proud.  Hopefully too his son can last a little longer so his grandchildren can enjoy that pint with the old man.

Sorry I didn’t listen Dad

“Any man can be a father, but it takes someone special to be a dad.” —Anne Geddes

 

Leave a Reply

